JUST A PINCH OF MINT

APRIL FOOLS’ WITH BUTTER

Posted in FOOD by pinchofmint on April 1, 2010

It’s the time of the year when people in the media industry are getting their much-deserved break. It was actually my day-off yesterday (Wednesday) when I had a late dinner with my college friends Maricris and Kharla at Metrowalk and we bought DVD’s (I know, pirated. sorry).

I bought the book-turned-movie Julie and Julia and watched it immediately when I got home. I really like the movie 🙂 I’m fascinated with Paris in the 1940s and how Julia worked her way to introduce French cuisine to the American market. During the first part of the movie, Julie, the one who decided to make a blog on her 365 days and 534 dishes challenge, worked on the wonders of butter.

Then tonight my sister, who also watched the movie, tried to do eggs omelet and it wasn’t that bad at all. She used butter to replace olive oil and forgo the salt and added just a pinch of pepper. The eggs were mouthwatering and the butter really enhanced the taste and the creaminess of the eggs. Badly I wasn’t able to take a picture of the food because we were starving to death after it was placed to my plate, will try to do it next time. I should be eating less this time because it is Holy Week, and in the Filipino tradition, we should at least refrain from eating a lot of mouthwatering dishes. I know, my bad. Sorry but I can’t help good food.

MOCHA CASHEW CAKE

Posted in FOOD by pinchofmint on April 1, 2010

DS just baked a cake and I’m doing the icing (yes! icing). Pardon the photos because this is just my first time to do the ice pipping… I’m used to just plain cake and brownies, no icing at all. and oh, I wrote my sweet pup’s name.

Will bake again tomorrow…

Tagged with: , , ,

CHEERS!

Posted in Personal by pinchofmint on April 1, 2010

I’m not new to the blogging sphere. I’ve been there, done that and forgot to update it.

An hour ago, I was actually trying to update my LiveJournal account which was just flying in the web world for six months without any recent updates from me. I was writing my nth entry when it hit me… I don’t want to continue it and I just clicked the “delete account” button in an instant. It was actually an impulsive move from me because I forgot to save my (I believe) best stories. Yes, I make stories… the not-so-good stuff though.

Now I’m starting again (I know! How pathetic of starting it during April Fools’) and I’m not promising, yes, not promising to update it everyday or every week because I actually have a life out there…somewhere, and a job (I know, lame excuse). I will try to continue on and write anything that amuses me, or even those that disappoints me because, after all, this is my space in this unpredictable, so colorful and sometimes surprising world.

Cheers everyone… and no, this is not a joke.

Tagged with: