JUST A PINCH OF MINT

TOUS BAGS

Posted in BAG, Personal by pinchofmint on April 5, 2010

I’m a self confessed bag and shoe addict. I’ve been reading a lot of blogs and regularly visits local stores and websites of premiere and designer brands there is, so I believe I’m pretty good at guessing the brand of a certain bag.

As of the moment, the Philippines, specifically Manila is very much into fake Louis Vuitton’s, Prada, Chanel and even Goyard and Hermes. I’ve seen a lot of good Class A fake bags hanging in someone’s shoulder and its pretty devastating. I made a promise that I will not buy any fake bag in my entire lifetime. I’m still after the quality and longevity of the product and not into using it as “arm candy.”

So as I was browsing my aunts pictures, who is by the way based in Greece, I saw her in this bag that was pretty much over the tiangge’s in Manila. I honestly don’t know the brand and I’m pretty sure my aunt’s bag is not fake because she’s not of that caliber. I searched the net for the bag and alas! I found it! Another moment for me.

Tous Bags… are you familiar of it?

I’ve been seeing a lot of girls using it as everyday bag and believe me, I think its hideous because the “replicated” bag didn’t do any justice to the original brand.

(The fake Tous Bag traveling in Manila)

I’ve seen someone with this kind of bag and believe me, at first I thought it was a recycled bag, it didn’t occur to me that there was indeed a “real” one!

I went to Tous site and it says that the company was established in 1920’s and they’ve been making jewelry that suits one’s personality for years. They also have wide variety of handbags, wallets, fragrances and even glasses in more than 350 stores in 42 countries (Philippine’s not included).

(Tous Kaos bag)

The widely replicated Tous “Kaos” bag is worth $259.00 and they are made-up of cotton and synthetic cover and unprocessed bovine leather.

(Tous Cubik Bag $259.00)

As you browse in their website you will notice that they have good pieces (I’m actually liking their wallets and jewelry pieces). It’s just very unfortunate for them to be replicated badly (I’m not saying that it would seem right if replicated correctly) and another victim of piracy.

I just hope that we try to stop or don’t give any interest to fake products because the essence of luxury is slowly deteriorating. I know that some will oppose to my statement because they will reason out that its a way of letting the ‘masa’ feel a little bit of luxury, but getting a fake bag doesn’t give any sense of luxury (believe me!). Luxury is about quality and the time consumed to deliver something beautiful and extraordinary and getting a replicated bag doesn’t license you with that.