JUST A PINCH OF MINT

OLD FRIENDS

Posted in FICTION, SCRIBBLE by pinchofmint on April 3, 2010

It been three years now since I saw him. I can still remember that there were no goodbyes or see you soon. I was left hanging and for years, stuck with my own old self… then I saw him.

It was a Saturday afternoon and I was seated inside the coffee shop and was just staring at the open and watching people laugh, smile, frown… I saw families of four, three, even just husbands and wifes, and girlfriend-boyfriends. It’s been like this since I can remember, me seating somewhere and just watching, then I saw him and I believe he saw me back.

He waved and said “Hi” and I was just staring. Couldn’t believe what I’ve been seeing. Everything came again, like flashbacks in movies or when you are dying. I can’t explain the feeling. He walked towards me and I was able to give him a smile. The thought that hunts me for years is now taking place at my own plain sight and I wasn’t ready for this, though I thought I am.

“How are you? It’s been a long time,” he said when he finally standing in front of me.

I was mum. I can’t collect any words to reply to that dark baritone of his. “I’m okay,” I was able to say.

“Are you here with someone?” he said trying to make a conversation. I still know him pretty well, the body language the words he keeps on telling when things get pretty awkward.

“Just alone. I just bought books for the holidays. You? with someone?” please let him be alone, I kept saying to my self.

“Yeah just me. I just bought a gift for a friend who’s getting married this weekend,” he said.

“Oh! is that for Sarah and Miggy?” I said.

Sarah and Miguel are our high school friends. We are from the same set of friends and we shared a lot of stuff. We were the two most loved couples in junior high. We went to double dates together, travel together until three years ago when Alex and I separated. It was a devastating event in the group. Everyone thought that I’d end up with Alex and Sarah with Miguel.

“Yes I’m back because Miggy invited me. I might be staying in town for a week or two,” he said.

Alex is now base in Hong Kong. He got a job in a IT firm right after we separated. Me I was left here in Manila, trying to continue everything.

“Oh, that’s good. At least you can keep up with the gang.” I said.

“I think so. I’m also here for business.” he said.

“Right” I said then my phone rang. “Can you please excuse me for a while?” I said without bothering getting his answer and started to stand up and went into the secluded area in the coffee shop. It was my cousin, checking if things are all set for her party.

“Yes Tina, everything’s fine. Don’t worry about the party! Everything is set.” I said even if my thoughts are spinning with Alex. “Bye Tina. I know! Just don’t worry!” then I shut the phone off.

Walking back to my table, my eyes were looking for someone. He’s not there already just like that. He left again… and, again, without saying goodbye.

“Oh great! see you then on the wedding Alex.”

to be continued…

Tagged with: , ,

Leave a comment