JUST A PINCH OF MINT

ONE YEAR CHALLENGE

Posted in BOOKS, Personal by pinchofmint on April 3, 2010

I’m a sucker for romance novels.

My fascination with Harlequin or Silhouette Romances begun when I was in fifth grade (Yes, I know! They do contain X-Rated stuff but heck I thought I was a grown up at that time). It was my aunt who introduced me to those romance novels which she brought home from the states. At first I was a little bit hesitant to browse it because I know I’m not into that kind of stuff, but guess what? I liked it. My mom didn’t like me reading pocket books, especially romance, so I tend to read it when she’s not around or when she’s already asleep and I’d gladly open my Hello Kitty red flash light and read it in our bedroom floor, luckily I still have 20-20 vision.

I love going to Book Sales as much as I love going to those boring, humongous bookstores. I get that giddy feeling when I read the synopsis  and I know that that book is “the one,” which usually lasts until I get another “the one” book. Sometimes my friends thinks that I’m a weird person because I prefer to just browse all the books in the bookstore rather than go out to have fun. I think they just don’t get it that I’m actually having fun. If there’s two things that I’m not sorry to spend most of my hard-earned money, it would be food and books (food nourishes the body while the book nourishes the mind). But don’t get me wrong, I also read classical literary pieces by Jane Austen and Milan Kundera. It’s just that I’m so inlove with Susan Elizabeth Phillips, Linda Francis Lee, Jennifer Cruise, Rachel Bilson and more.

So with more than 400 books in my closet, I’m challenging my self to at least share to you my thoughts on 150 books in one year’s time. I will try to blog why I love it, why I believe the story should have been this and not that and why it should be reproduced again for the next generation to come. I know, it may sound so lame, but hey I’m starting something here.

Fast forward to April 2, 2011, I should have write 150 book shares and a good one year in this blog!!!!

Cheers!

P.S. and oh, by the way leave your comments, your thoughts and suggestions. I can handle criticism pretty well.

Tagged with: , , , ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Veeps said, on April 5, 2010 at 12:32 AM

    Saw you last Wednesday night at Ortigas area. I was a bit hesitant to approach you.


Leave a comment